The Hirosaka Annex was originally built in 1922 as a Division Headquarters for the Imperial Japanese Army's Ninth Division. After the war, it was used as an official residence for U.S. Army officers, as the Kanazawa Family Court, as the prefectural children’s centre, as a bird sanctuary, and as a resting area. The entrance area and other parts of the building still retain the appearance of their original construction.
In 2008, the Japanese-style rooms and other parts of the building were renovated, and new exhibition equipment and features were installed, for the building’s reopening as the Hirosaka Annex of the Ishikawa Prefectural Museum of Art. In 2016, it underwent construction work for earthquake-proofing, and a new guidance room was built for the relocated Conservation and Restoration Studio of Cultural Properties, as part of the combined renovation work for the Hirosaka Annex and the adjacent studio.
● Multi-Purpose Room
This room can accommodate about 24 people, with a charming old-fashioned atmosphere. In addition to meetings and lectures, it can also be used as a mini gallery using the picture rails on the walls.
● Japanese-Style Rooms
There are two Japanese-style rooms (8 tatami mats and 6 tatami mats) with an open-air veranda and preparation area. They can be used for tea ceremonies and other purposes as well.
● Restoration Studio Guidance Room
Visitors can learn through videos and panels in an easy-to-understand manner the restoration work process. Using the touch panel display, you can see videos of past restoration examples.
1-1 Dewamachi, Kanazawa, Ishikawa 920-0963 JAPAN［ Google Maps ］
9:30～17:00（Last Admission: 16:30）
New Year Holidays（12/29 - 1/3）
- Facilities may be closed at other times due to special events, etc.